Captain Marvel

So, the wait is over and we are ten months removed from one of the greatest films of all times, Avengers, Infinity War. Captain Marvel is the origin film of Marvel’s newest character to enter the Marvel Cinematic Universe. At the end of Avengers: Infinity War, Nick Furry stops his car as people are disappearing and run to the trunk. He grabs an odd piece of tech which looks like a pager. It was the logo of Captain Marvel. We had to wait 10 months to learn more about the character.

Brie Larson plays the heroine, Vere or Carol Danvers. She is a member of the Cree military and Jude Law plays her mentor and commanding officer. During a mission, Danvers is captured and ends up on earth. While trying to carry out her mission goals and learns the world is not as black and white as she thought.

So let’s get into this. First and foremost, I didn’t think the movie was great. It wasn’t bad but on a Marvel scale, it underperformed. There were good parts but I have to be honest. I figured out the movie in the first five minutes and feel like I could have written a better story. Check out this review to see the various problems.  Not sure if Marvel has bitten off more than they can chew with the two Avengers films, Black Panther, Captain Marvel, and Spiderman all being made around the same two-year time span. It just feels like Kevin Feige, Marvel Studios CEO, took his eye off the ball. I truly blame him.  I have enjoyed all of the previous 19 films. I have seen most of them a minimum of 3 times. I can’t see a reason to watch Captain Marvel a second time. With the success of DC comics Wonder Woman, Marvel had a blueprint for a strong female lead. I love Wonder Woman and have seen it at least four times. The good news is Marvel can learn from this hopefully and Avengers, End Game comes out in six weeks.

Now the movie was not all bad. I liked how it played off of Agents of Sheild. I have been a big fan of that show and they go into detail on the alien civilization of the Cree. This is the first time we have seen Nick Furry in a major role and not just popping in with a few good one-liners. We now have a weapon to help take on Thanos. It had a lot of funny lines like Guardians or Ragnarok.  The 90s nostalgia was fun for a few minutes but all these things were not enough to carry the film.

Critical Commentary: The movie is a commercial success but in all the people who I have talked to about the movie, only one person liked it. For me, it is one of the worst movies in the MCU. We’ll see how this movie stands over time. Maybe it will grow on me but I really didn’t like it.

 

Leave a comment